Here we will list information about confirmed speakers for the 25th Conference:


former Section Head for NSF EPSCoR, retired, National Science Foundation

Dr. Denise M. Barnes is the Section Head for the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) with the National Science Foundation. Prior to this, Denise was Vice President of New Business Development for the Telecommunications and Electronics Markets with ITECS-Innovative. Past experience also includes Adjunct Professor of Chemistry at Spelman College in Atlanta, GA., and President, Amalan Networks until April 2004. In this role, Dr. Barnes was accountable for the emerging services business. Previously, Dr. Barnes held the position of Vice President of the Optical Connectivity Division Unit for OFS (formerly Lucent Technologies).  Dr. Barnes holds an AB in Chemistry from Vassar College and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from Brown University.  She has also completed SMU's Executive MBA Program. Dr. Barnes is the Immediate Past Chairman of the Executive Board of the National Organization for the professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers and serves on the Advisory Board of Noble & Associates. She has also served as a Board member of Georgia Industrial Fellowship for Teachers (GIFT), an organization that is focused on enhancing the technical skills of science and math teachers.

Dean, College of the Environment, University of Washington

Dean Lisa J. Graumlich, Mary Laird Wood Professor, is the inaugural dean of the College of the Environment at the University of Washington. As dean, she leads a College with unparalleled depth and breadth in environmental systems: from the forests to the seas and from the depths of the earth to the edges of the solar system. Graumlich has served as the director of the University of Arizona’s Institute for the Study of Planet Earth and Montana State University’s Mountain Research Center, as well as executive director of their Big Sky Institute. She was named an Aldo Leopold Leadership Fellow in 1999 and was elected as Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2004. In 2017, she was elected to the American Geophysical Union’s Board of Directors.

Associate Director, Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships, University of Delaware

J. Michael Bowman is the Associate Director of the University of Delaware’s Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships (OEIP) and the State Director of the Delaware Small Business Development Center (SBDC). Mike founded and is President of the Delaware Technology Park, Inc. (DTP), a collaboration between the State of Delaware, the University of Delaware and private industry formed to launch and support technology companies across a diverse group of industries. Prior to leading DTP, Mike was a Vice President and General Manager for E.I. duPont de Nemours and Advanced Material Systems business unit, which developed more than 40 new technologies for commercialization and grew to $1B in annual revenue.

McClure Scientific Consulting, Arkansas STEM Coalition

Gail McClure is a toxicologist/molecular epidemiologist and former State Director for Arkansas EPSCoR.  She led research efforts bringing together scientists to focus on topics of interest from different Arkansas research institutions and disciplines, as well as multi-state efforts in the southern region.  She currently serves on advisory boards to Missouri EPSCoR and Nevada EPSCoR.   She has a passion for STEM education, and helped develop the Arkansas STEM Coalition in 2004 where she continues to act as a board member.  The Arkansas STEM Coalition is a statewide partnership of over 1700 business, education, government and community leaders that plan, encourage, coordinate and advocate policies, strategies, and programs supportive of excellence in STEM in order to expand the economy of Arkansas and produce higher paying jobs.  She is currently retired and doing scientific consulting, as well as spending much of her time on personal and community gardening projects and with her seven grandchildren.




Professor of Earth Sciences and Fellow of the Montana Institute on Ecosystems, Montana State University

Cathy Whitlock is the founding MSU Director of the Montana Institute on Ecosystems and Professor of Earth Sciences.  She is nationally and internationally recognized for her scholarly contributions and leadership activities in the field of past climatic and environmental change, and she has published over 140 reviewed journal articles and book chapters on this topic.  Her current research sites extend from Yellowstone and the western U.S. to New Zealand, Tasmania, and Patagonia.  Since her arrival at MSU in 2004, Cathy has built a successful research and teaching program, and the MSU Paleoecology Lab supports post-docs, graduate students, and undergraduates and visiting scientists from around the world.  Her research has been funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, Joint Fire Sciences Program, National ParkService, Department of Energy, USDA Forest Service, and US Geological Survey. She is past President of the American Quaternary Association and serves on national and international advisory committees concerned with climate change. In addition, Cathy has been on NSF review panels and editorial boards for leading disciplinary journals.

, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute

Brian L. Zuckerman is a Research Staff Member at the IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute (STPI). He brings expertise to STPI in the areas of program evaluation and scientometrics. His work focuses on Federal research and development program performance and agency-wide research portfolios, including leading an evaluation of the NSF EPSCoR program that concluded in 2014. Dr. Zuckerman has also analyzed Federal research and development data systems and statistical data collection programs. Before joining STPI, he was a principal at C-STPS, LLC, and at the Center for Science and Technology Policy of Abt Associates Inc. He is a past co-chair of the Research, Technology, and Development Topical Interest Group of the American Evaluation Association. Dr. Zuckerman holds a BA in chemistry from Harvard College and a PhD in Technology, Management, and Policy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.